Skip to main content

Interoperability and cybersecurity are priorities in all smart grid projects, and standards development is an essential grid modernization activity that has been accelerated by the Recovery Act. Interoperability is defined as the capability of two or more networks, systems, devices, applications, or components to share and readily use information securely and effectively with little or no inconvenience to the user. Cybersecurity is defined as the steps needed to reduce the risk of energy disruptions or unauthorized data access from attempted cyber intrusions, as well actions to avoid the loss of critical functions during an intentional cyber assault.

The two largest Smart Grid Recovery Act programs under the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) are the Smart Grid Investment Grant (SGIG) program and the Smart Grid Demonstration Program (SGDP). All of the SGIG and SGDP recipients are required to address both interoperability and cybersecurity in their smart grid projects. In addition, DOE is working with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), standards development organizations, and others to develop tools for the recipients in these areas and industry-based standards, protocols, and business practices.

Learn more about:


The location, information, and data for each smart grid project are provided in this section.
Click for Projects


These reports include analysis, impacts, lessons learned, best practices, analytical tools, and case studies that were supported by the Recovery Act Smart Grid Programs.
Click for Publications

The Department of Energy's Office of Electricity (OE) recognizes that our nation's sustained economic prosperity, quality of life, and global competitiveness depends on an abundance of secure, reliable, and affordable energy resources. OE leads the Department of Energy's efforts to ensure a resilient, and flexible electricity system in the United States. Learn more about OE >>

None:prod None build None